State of Permont
Executive Department
A Proclamation

WHEREAS, children, Vermont’s most precious resource, must be guaranteed their
health, well-being and protection; and

WHEREAS, of all the 2016 substantiated child abuse incidents in Vermont, 36 percent
were related to sexual abuse and 14 percent to physical abuse; and

WHEREAS, all forms of child abuse: sexual, physical, emotional, and neglect can lead
to physical and behavioral health problems including heart disease,
cancer, high blood pressure, obesity, substance abuse and incarceration
which inevitably affects our families, schools, communities and health
care systems; and

WHEREAS, parents, foster parents, child care professionals, social workers, health and
mental health professionals, educators, law enforcement officers, victim
advocates, home visitors, parent educators, domestic violence and rape
crisis workers, hotline workers, mentors, guardian ad litems and other
volunteers demonstrate a daily commitment to children and families who
fall prey to violence; and

WHEREAS, to protect children who have been abused, firm action is needed by
Vermont’s judicial system, the Vermont Department for Children and
Families and Vermont’s Child Advocacy Centers, supplemented by
continued engagement of early intervention programs and initiatives,
such as: Circle of Parents®, home visitation, Early Essential Education,
SAFE-T, Care for Kids, Youth Services, We Care Elementary, KidSafe
Collaborative, Commit to Kids, Strengthening Families Framework,
quality child care and the Nurturing Parenting Programs®.

NOW, THEREFORE, I, Philip B. Scott, Governor, do hereby proclaim April 2018 as

CHILD ABUSE PREVENTION MONTH

in VVermont.

Given under my hand and the Great Seal of the State of
Vermont on this 29rd day of March, A.D. 2018

Philip B. Scott
Governor

Brittney LaN. Vilson
Secretary of Civil and Military Affairs



