State of Permont
Exerutive Department
A Proclamation

WHEREAS, children, Vermont’s most precious resource, must be guaranteed
their health, well-being and protection; and

WHEREAS, of the 876 substantiated child abuse incidents in Vermont in 2017,
37 percent were related to sexual abuse and 16 percent to physical
abuse; and

WHEREAS, to protect children who have been abused, firm action is needed by

Vermont’s judicial system, the Vermont Department for Children
and Families and Vermont’s Child Advocacy Centers,
supplemented by continued engagement of early intervention
programs and initiatives, such as: Circle of Parents®, home
visitation, Early Essential Education, SAFE-T, Care for Kids, Youth
Services, We Care Elementary, KidSafe Collaborative, Commit to
Kids, Strengthening Families Framework, quality child care and the
Nurturing Parenting Programs®; and

WHEREAS, all forms of child abuse, sexual, physical, emotional, and neglect,
can lead to physical and behavioral health problems including heart
disease, cancer, high blood pressure, obesity, substance abuse and
incarceration which inevitably affects our families, schools,
communities and health care systems; and

WHEREAS, parents, foster parents, child care professionals, social workers,
health and mental health professionals, educators, law enforcement
officers, victim advocates, home visitors, parent educators,
domestic violence and rape crisis workers, hotline workers, mentors,
guardian ad litems and other volunteers demonstrate a daily
commitment to children and families who fall prey to violence.

NOW, THEREFORE, I, Philip B. Scott, Governor, hereby proclaim April 2019 as
CHILD ABUSE PREVENTION MONTH

in Vermont.

¥
: Given under my hand and the Great Seal of the State of
h ’Qf} Vermont on this 26th day of March, A.D. 2019.
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Brittney LY'Wilson
Secretary of Civil and Military Affairs




