Skip to main content

Governor-Elect Scott Announces Two Additional Cabinet Appointments

December 13, 2016

Montpelier, Vt. – Governor-elect Phil Scott today announced the appointments of Thomas D. Anderson as Commissioner of Public Safety and Julie Moore as Secretary of the Agency of Natural Resources (ANR).  

Scott also announced that he would reappoint former state Senator Diane Snelling to chair the natural resources board and Andy Pallito as commissioner of finance and management.


Anderson, who is currently working at the U.S. Department of Justice (DOJ), and formerly served as the lead federal prosecutor in Vermont, will lead the department responsible for the Vermont State Police, Emergency Management, Crime Information Center, Forensics Lab, and Safety divisions.

“In my view, government’s first responsibility is to ensure public safety, so it was important to fill this position with someone of integrity, experience and commitment to the safety and rights of all Vermonters. By every measure, Tom represents those qualities and will serve Vermont well,” said Governor-elect Scott. “He understands that our public safety system requires close coordination with, and respect for, county sheriffs’ departments, municipal police and fire departments, and local rescue squads. He is also committed to having an efficient inspection system that supports economic growth. Tom will bring to bear both his extensive managerial and criminal justice experience to lead the department forward.”

In his current role, Anderson works with all 94 U.S. Attorney’s Offices. Prior to this work, he was the Presidentially appointed U.S. Attorney for the District of Vermont, working closely with federal, state and local law enforcement to protect the interests of the U.S. and the citizens of Vermont, including prosecuting some of Vermont’s biggest and most complex criminal cases. Before becoming U.S. Attorney, Anderson was an Assistant U.S. Attorney and Chief of the Narcotics Unit for the U.S. Attorney’s Office.  Anderson began his legal career as a Deputy State’s Attorney in Orleans County and has also served as a Special Assistant Attorney General for Vermont to investigate and prosecute a police corruption case. 

“It is an honor to be asked to serve Vermonters and the Governor-elect in this role,” said Anderson. “Governor-elect Scott is a strong advocate and partner for the public safety community at every level and he has an aggressive plan to continue to combat Vermont’s opiate epidemic. I look forward to working as part of his team, with the Department’s talented and committed public servants, and with all of Vermont’s public safety officials, to fulfill our vitally important responsibility.”


“With a long-time commitment to protecting our waterways, a deep understanding of water quality concerns, and extensive experience building consensus on watershed management activities, Julie brings tremendous knowledge and value to our team and to the Agency of Natural Resources,” said Scott. “Her expertise and experience as an engineer will help us strengthen the connection between our natural resources and our economic security, and I look forward to working with Julie and the entire Agency to manage our natural resources as a vital part of our state’s health, identity, culture and economy.” 

Moore is currently the Water Resources Group Leader at Stone Environmental, an environmental consulting firm, a post she has held for nearly 6 years. She also brings 15 years of additional environmental project management experience to the job, including 6 years of previous experience with the Agency of Natural Resources (ANR), where she led the state’s efforts to reduce phosphorus pollution in Lake Champlain and managed a budget of more than $4 million. Moore also served as the primary Agency liaison to related programs at the agencies of Agriculture, Food & Markets and Transportation, and routinely provided testimony to the Vermont Legislature.

Moore has also volunteered in various capacities with organizations dedicated to improving Vermont’s water resources, including as Chair of the Friends of Northern Lake Champlain Advisory Council; on the Board of Directors of both the Friends of the Winooski River and Watersheds United; and as an Associate Supervisor with the Winooski Natural Resources Conservation District.  Most recently, Moore was appointed to a second three-year term on the Citizens Advisory Committee (CAC) on the Future of Lake Champlain and elected Chair. Moore has also previously served as the Chair of the school board at Rumney Memorial School.

She earned a B.S. in civil engineering, cum laude, from the University at Buffalo and an M.S. in environmental science and policy from the Department of Geography and Environmental Engineering at the Johns Hopkins University. She is a registered professional engineer in both Vermont and New Hampshire.

“I am looking forward to working with Governor-elect Scott, my new colleagues in the cabinet and the dedicated employees of the Agency of Natural Resources to promote and protect Vermont’s natural resources, working landscape and the recreation assets that we value as Vermonters and attract millions of dollars in tourism visits each year,” Moore said.  


Pallito joined the Agency of Human Services in 1992, moved to the Department of Corrections in 2001, and was appointed by Governor Jim Douglas as Commissioner of Corrections in 2008.  In October 2015 he was elevated to Commissioner of Finance and Management. The Department of Finance and Management maintains the state’s central accounting and budgeting systems, develops the state budget, produces the official financial statements and maintains the State’s financial transparency website, among other responsibilities.


Snelling has served as chair of the Natural Resources Board (NRB) since March 2016.  The NRB is responsible for administering Vermont’s land use law known as Act 250. Prior to chairing the NRB, Snelling served in the state senate for 14 years.  As a member of the Legislature, Snelling was a frequent champion for clean water and served as a member of the Senate Natural Resources Committee.