Skip to main content

In Support of Diversity, Equity, & Inclusiveness

November 18, 2016

Montpelier, Vt. – A number of Vermont education leaders released the following statement, which has also been signed by Governor Peter Shumlin and Governor-elect Phil Scott. A full list of signers is copied below.

“Vermont has fought for centuries for freedom and unity, equity and openness. Vermont remains a beacon of hope and opportunity, community and shared humanity. Vermont was the first to commit to the abolition of slavery in our state constitution and a leader in the fight for marriage equality. We will continue to support all Vermonters and welcome people of all backgrounds to the Green Mountain state.

“We, the undersigned, condemn any acts of unlawful discrimination, violence, and intimidation that target differences in national origin, race, sex, gender, religion, disability, or political viewpoint across our nation. Such acts run counter to the rights and freedoms upon which our country was founded and to the core values of the state of Vermont.

“Vermont is committed to fostering welcoming communities and an equitable, diverse, and inclusive society.”

Governor Peter Shumlin

Governor-elect Phil Scott

Lisa M. Ventriss, President, Vermont Business Roundtable

T. Gregory Dewey, President, Albany College of Pharmacy

Mariko Silver, President, Bennington College

David Wolk, President, Castleton University

Michelle Ollie, President, Center for Cartoon Studies

Don Laackman, President, Champlain College

Lawrence Jensen, Interim President, College of Saint Joseph

Joyce Judy, President, Community College of Vermont

Robert Kenny, President, Goddard College

Robert Allen, President, Green Mountain College

Elaine Collins, President, Johnson State College

Peter Eden, President, Landmark College

Nolan Atkins, Interim President, Lyndon State College

Kevin Quigley, President, Marlboro College

Laurie Patton, President, Middlebury College

Richard Schneider, President, Norwich University

Donald Steinberg, President, School for International Training Graduate Institute

David Rees Evans, President, Southern Vermont College

Matthew Derr, President, Sterling College

John Neuhauser, President, Saint Michael’s College

Tom Sullivan, President, University of Vermont

Roger H. Sublett, President, Union Institute and University

Marc B. Mihaly, President and Dean, Vermont Law School

Thomas Greene, President, Vermont College of Fine Arts

Jeb Spaulding, Chancellor, Vermont State Colleges                     

Pat Moulton, Interim President, Vermont Technical College

Scott Giles, President & CEO, Vermont Student Assistance Corporation